24 January 2022

Apropos Coop Banking "The Future of the Co-operative Business Model"

The EACB is pleased to announce

Apropos Coop Banking

“The Future of the Co-operative Business Model”

24 January 2022 - 9:30-11:30am CET (ONLINE)

This event is to mark the launch of the EACB Co-operative Identity Forum and the Academic Advisory Group. The newly created Forum shall serve as a platform for exchange on political developments related to co-operatives and in the co-operative banking sector on national, European and global levels. The EACB Academic Advisory Group shall enable a dialogue with researchers and academics on topics related to co-operatives and co-operative banking. The aim is to foster a mutually inspiring conversation on co-operative banking and its challenges.

The event focuses on the prospects for the co-operative business model, particularly in light of the trends emerging from the increasing digitalisation and the ecological transition of our economies.

On this occasion, the EACB would like to honour the winners of the 9th EACB Award for Young Researchers on Co-operative Banks. The purpose of this competition is to attract young talents to investigate co-operative banks’ specificities and thus stimulate research on co-operative banking.



Nina Schindler, Chief Executive Officer, EACB


Keynote Speech on Prospects for the Co-operative Business Model followed by Q&A 
Susanne Westhausen, President, Cooperatives Europe


Panel Discussion "Co-operatives on Stage: Trends and Experiences"
Franky Depickere, President, International Raiffeisen Union & Chief Executive Officer, Cera
Isabelle Ferrand, Deputy Chief Executive Officer, Confédération Nationale du Crédit Mutuel
Prof. Hans Groeneveld, Director International Cooperative Affairs, Rabobank/ Professor, Tilburg School of Economics and Management, Tilburg University
Dr. Eric Meyer, General Manager, Institute for Co-operative Studies, University of Muenster

Moderator: Nina Schindler, Chief Executive Officer, EACB


Ceremony of the 9th EACB Award for Young Researchers on Co-operative Banks
Laudatio: Prof. Silvio Goglio, Department of Economics and Management, University of Trento
Presentation of Awarded Research Paper: Bruno De Menna, Junior Economist/Policy Analyst, OECD Centre for Entrepreneurship, SMEs, Regions & CitiesBruno De Menna



Closing Remarks
Nina Schindler, Chief Executive Officer, EACB

The event is on invitation only.
For more information, please contact the EACB Secretariat.


Welcome to the EACB website member section ! To access, please enter your login and password below. You forgot your password ? Please click on 'Retrieve password'. Have a nice visit !

Remember Me

Lost Password

You forgot your password ? We invite you to enter your e-mail adress below and click on 'Retrieve password'. A new password will then be sent to you.